Functionalities in Kaltura Live Rooms

Kaltura Live Rooms has several functionalities that can make the online sessions more interactive. Below you will find explanations and instruction videos of the following functionalities:


  • The difference between webinar or virtual classroom setting;

  • Add presentations and files;

  •  Screen parts

  •  Recording the Live Room

  • Play videos in a Live Room

  • Using quizzes and question

  • Using break-out room

  • Other tools

These functionalities can be of great added value during an online session. So take some time to explore and try them out. 


On the website of the provider you will find more examples and frequently asked questions.

Webinar or virtual classroom

The Live Room  session is set to Webinar mode by default. This means that the camera and microphone are not turned on when entering.


If you would like to have continuous contact with your students, you can select the Virtual Classroom via the settings. This means that students are allowed to use their webcam and microphone. 


Remember to inform your students of this due to privacy concerns, and accept when students do not want to make use of this option.


More Information: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/class-modes-virtual-classroom-vs-webinar

Adding presentations and files

If you want to use a presentation in a session, you can upload it via Files. By selecting the file and clicking on Play, you show the presentation to the participants. 

You can also use multiple files during the session. This is possible with the help of a playlist: this can be opened on the right side of your screen and gives you direct access to all the files you have ready for this session. Quizzes and videos can also be added here.


Attention! Powerpoints shared in this way lose the ability to play animations and/or videos. This can be solved by sharing your screen (see below) during which you will be able to share animations and/or videos.


Meer informatie.: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/upload-files-to-share

Sharing your screen

If you want to show a website or program, you can choose to share your screen live. The participants then see what is happening on your screen, such as manipulating a model or playing an animation.


Attention! Before you start sharing, close open websites and other programs with personal and/or sensitive information and ensure that your notifications are hidden or turned off. You don't want to accidentally share your inbox, a list of students numbers or other personal/sensitive data.

Recording a Live Room

Due to privacy laws and regulations, we recommend that a webinar only be included:


  • If it is strictly necessary,

  • Can't be replaced by a Kaltura Capture video,

  • When the session is in Webinar Mode, so that students don't (have to) have their camera and microphone on, and

  • The students will be notified in advance about the fact that a recording will be made.

Attention! If you choose to record your Live Room, read the Privacy Guidance Note first (at the bottom of this page). This document contains information that must be shared with students beforehand.


As soon as you click on Record, it takes about one minute before the program actually starts recording. Once your session is over, you can stop recording. This is then automatically converted and after a while appears in 'my media' in the Video Portal.


More Information: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/record-your-live-session

Playing videos in a Live Room

Kaltura Live room has a special functionality to play Youtube or Kaltura videos. This can be done by adding them to the playlist.  You go to tools and then select the YouTube logo. Here you can search and select your video.


More Information: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/share-youtube-videos-in-your-live-session

The use of quizzes and questions

Quizzes can be used to test students' knowledge and are often a welcome break from a longer session. You can use quizzes to:


  • Collect opinions, points of view and thoughts (open essay questions);

  • To do a pre- and post-measurement (2 times the same quiz);

  • Multiple answers (multiple select) 

At the closed questions you as a presenter can immediately see what the scores of the students are. The answers to open questions are not immediately scored.


More information: 

Creating quizzes: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/create-and-edit-your-course-quizzes

Publishing quizzes: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/publish-your-quizzes

To view the results: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/review-your-quiz-results

Using break-out rooms

Breakout is a tool that allows you to divide a group into smaller groups (of max 10 students). In these small groups you can, for example, have discussions or work on assignments together. In the break-out room students can use all tools available in the main room. You can have the students divided automatically over the groups or you can do this manually. 


Please take the following points into account:


  • The work done on whiteboards in the break-out rooms is not saved. The result can be saved by means of a screenshot.

  • The documents uploaded by students in the break-out rooms are stored in the "files section" of the course. Inform students about this so that they know how they can find the documents.

  • Use of the timer function is recommended, so that participants know when to finish.

  • As a presenter you can visit all break out rooms to participate in the conversations.

  • It is possible to send a message to all groups. Notify participants in advance so that they can keep an eye on it, as there are no pop-ups or push notifications shown. There is no conspicuous message visible.

  • Students can raise their hands if they have questions. As a presenter you will see a banner with a message and you can let the participant speak. Remember to unmute this person.

More information: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/breakout-your-live-session 

Other interesting functionalities

Other tools and possibilities that might be interesting:


    Going live: moderating a course

    Going live for the first time can be exciting: you do not see your students, you are not used to the tools yet, and if you are out of luck you might suffer from technical failures. Help yourself by being well prepared and practice with the tool beforehand. Our suggestion is to check out all the support pages on the topic of ‘moderate your session’. Open a Live Room yourself after and practice the different steps and actions, preferably with one or a few colleagues.

    A successful interactive lecture

    Practice makes perfect: each new session will be better than the previous one. Nevertheless, with the following tips you can already have a good first session:

     

      • Make a lesson plan with sufficient interactivity. Do not speak for longer than 7 minutes.

      • Make sure you have practiced with colleagues or students, so that you have mastered the operation of the buttons. 

      • Make a playlist with your powerpoint, your quiz and possible videos. 

      • Start the session with expectation management: when can students ask questions? Is there a moderator? What if a webcam or microphone doesn't work? How long will the session last? What behaviour is expected and not expected? 

      • Talk to the students if something doesn't work out, then they know what they are waiting for and they can help if necessary.

      • If you need to record: read the privacy guideline on recording with web cameras to ensure you do so in a privacy conscious way (see below). This document contains information you need to share with students beforehand.

      • Put on the first slide that the lesson will or will not be recorded and how students can test their webcam and microphone and which browsers are supported.
        When recording, add the following text to the beginning slide:
        This class will be recorded in order to [insert purpose]. If you do not wish to have your video filmed, please do not turn on your camera during the class. This video will be made available through the Video Portal. The recording will be available until [insert date when you will delete the video]. These recordings can be used for further education if necessary.

      • Use the Kaltura Live Room checklist from the last minute teaching tips page.